Executive Director and Staff

  • Mahan Mirza

    Executive Director

    Read More
  • Asmaa El Messnaoui

    Program Manager

    Read More
  • Sheila Christophorou

    Administrative Assistant

    Read More

Faculty Fellows

  • Agustín Fuentes

    The Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Endowed Chair in Anthropology

    Read More
  • Daniel Groody

    Associate Professor of Theology and Global Affairs

    Read More
  • Emmanuel Katongole

    Professor of Theology and Peace Studies

    Read More
  • Paul Kollman

    Associate Professor of Theology

    Read More
  • Timothy Matovina

    Professor of the History of Christianity

    Read More
  • Atalia Omer

    Associate Professor of Religion, Conflict, and Peace Studies

    Read More
  • Daniel Philpott

    Professor of International Relations and Political Theory

    Read More
  • Gerald Powers

    Director of Catholic Peacebuilding Studies, Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies

    Read More
  • Mun’im Sirry

    Assistant Professor of World Religions and the World Church

    Read More
  • Christian Smith

    William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Sociology

    Read More
  • Jason Springs

    Associate Professor of Religion, Ethics, and Peace Studies

    Read More
  • Kathleen Sprows Cummings

    Director, Cushwa Center for the Study of American Catholicism

    Read More
  • Thomas Tweed

    Harold and Martha Welch Professor of American Studies and Professor of History

    Read More

Post-Doctoral Research Associates

  • Alexander Hsu

    Hsu's research focuses on early Buddhist scriptures in medieval China and employs perspectives from manuscript studies, genre theory, and cultural history in order to examine how the use of texts reflects transformations in religious reading practices. His current book project examines why and how medieval Chinese Buddhists used anthologies to "economize" their gigantic scriptural canon.

Master of Global Affairs Fellows

  • Seiko Kanda

    MGA ’20

    Seiko Kanda studied Spanish and global studies at Tokyo University of Foreign Studies in Japan. As a recipient of the Mexico-Japan Governments Strategic Partnership Program Scholarship, he also studied at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Mexico in Mexico City. He worked for two years as a treasury and market specialist at MUFG Bank (Mexico) while volunteering at a local nonprofit organization that served homeless, at-risk adolescents. He is fluent in Japanese and Spanish. Seiko’s research interests include Latin American religion and society, the religious and ideological underpinnings of socially oriented activities, and multinational collaborative efforts pertaining to economic development.

International Adviser

  • Atiq Rahman

    Atiq Rahman is the executive director of the Bangladesh Centre for Advanced Studies, a think tank in South Asia that focuses on sustainable development. The 2008 recipient of the United Nations Champion of the Earth Award, Rahman served as lead author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change when it was jointly awarded the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with former U.S. Vice President Al Gore. Rahman’s current research focuses on global inequity and poverty, climate change, biodiversity, and relevant global institutions.