Media guide

  • Abdulsater 600 X 800

    Hussein Abdulsater
    Classics

    (574) 631-6519
    habdulsa@nd.edu

    Islamic tradition
    Muslim theological and ethical discourses
    Shi'ism
    Islamic intellectual history
     

  • Albahari 600 X 800

    Maurizio Albahari
    Anthropology and Global Affairs

    (574) 631-7759
    malbahar@nd.edu

    Migration and refugee mobility in Italy and
    the Euro-Mediterranean region
    Pluralism and religion in public life

  • Appleby 600 X 800

    Scott Appleby
    Global Affairs and History

    (574) 631-5665
    rappleby@nd.edu

    Global religious movements
    Global Catholicism
    Fundamentalism
    Secularism
    Modenrity

  • Avvakumov 600 X 800

    Yury Avvakumov
    Theology and History

    (574) 631-7153
    yavvakum@nd.edu

    Papacy and Byzantine Christianity
    Christiainity in Russia and Ukraine
    Catholic-Orthodox Ecumenism

     

  • Campbell 600 X 800

    David Campbell
    Political Science

    (574) 631-7809
    dave_campbell@nd.edu

    Religion, politics, and civic engagement in US
    Secularism in US
    Mormons & American politics
    How religion unites and divides Americans
    Religion and US elections

  • Dochuk 600 X 800

    Darren Dochuk
    History
    (574) 631-8281
    ddochuk@nd.edu

    Intersections of religion, politics, and influence
    of American West and Sunbelt Southwest
    US religious history
    Evangelical conservatism
    Religion and politics in North America’s age of oil

  • Dowd 600 X 800

    Rev. Robert Dowd, C.S.C.
    Political Science and Global Affairs

    (574) 631-7756
    rdowd1@nd.edu

    Religion, politics, and development in Africa
    and developing countries
    Civic engagement and tolerance
    Religion, national identity, and migration

  • Groody 600 X 800

    Rev. Daniel Groody, C.S.C.
    Theology and Global Affairs

    (574) 631-3233
    dgroody@nd.edu

    Refugees, faith and justice
    Global spirituality

  • Gurel 600 X 800

    Perin Gurel
    American Studies

    (574) 631-0250
    pgurel@nd.edu

    Culture and US foreign policy
    Modern Turkey and Iran
    Islam in the United States
    Gender and popular culture

  • Hilkert 600 X 800

    Mary Catherine Hilkert
    Theology

    (574) 631-7290
    mhilkert@nd.edu

    Contemporary Catholic theology
    and Church teaching
    Feminist theologies
    Women and the Church

  • Hoffman 600 X 800

    Michael Hoffman
    Political Science

    (574) 631-7679
    mhoffma5@nd.edu

    Religion and politics in the Middle East
    Relationship between communal religious practices
    and attitudes toward democracy

  • Jensen 600 X 800

    Lionel Jensen
    East Asian Languages and Cultures

    (574) 631-7699
    jensen.21@nd.edu

    Chinese religion and thought
    Contemporary economy, politics, human rights,
    and religion in Asia

  • Katongole 600 X 800

    Emmanuel Katongole
    Theology and Peace Studies

    (574) 631-2219
    katongole.1@nd.edu

    Politics, religion, and violence in Africa
    The theology of reconciliation
    Catholicism in the global South

  • Koesel 600 X 800

    Karrie Koesel
    Political Science and Global Affairs

    (574) 631-0829
    kkoesel1@nd.edu

    Religion and authoritarianism
    Religion and politics in China
    Religion and politics in Russia
    The politics of religion

  • Kollman 600 X 800

    Rev. Paul Kollman, C.S.C.
    Theology

    (574) 631-3873
    pkollman@nd.edu

    African Christianity
    World Christianity
    Global Catholicism
    Missionaries

  • Malkovsky 600 X 800

    Bradley Malkovsky
    Theology

    (574) 631-7128
    bmalkovs@nd.edu

    World religions and World Church
    Comparative spirituality
    Comparative eschatology
    Comparative doctrines of the divine
    Hindu-Christian studies

  • Mcgreevy 600 X 800

    John McGreevy
    History

    (574) 631-6067
    mcgreevy.5@nd.edu

    Catholicism and race
    Catholicism and American liberalism
    Globalization of Catholicism

  • Mckenny 600 X 800

    Gerald McKenny
    Theology

    (574) 631-4520
    gmckenny@nd.edu

    Christian ethics
    Religion, ethics, and biotechnology

  • Mirza 600 X 800

    Mahan Mirza
    Islam and Global Affairs

    (574) 631-1223
    mmirza@nd.edu

    Islam and science
    Islam in Pakistan and South Asia
    Madrasa engagement
    Religious literacy

  • Odozor 600 X 800

    Rev. Paulinus  Odozor, C.S. Sp
    Theology

    (574) 631-6583
    podozor@nd.edu

    Moral theology and Christian ethics
    Sex and sexuality in an ecumenical age
    African Christian theology
    Theology of marriage
    African literatures and morality

  • Omar 600 X 800

    Rashied Omar
    Islamic Studies

    (574) 631-7740
    omar.1@nd.edu

    Roots of religious violence
    Religion and constructive social engagement
    Interreligious peacebuilding
    Islamic ethics of war and peace

  • Omer 600 X 800

    Atalia Omer
    Religion, Conflict, and Peace Studies
    (574) 631-7121
    omer.3@nd.edu

    Religion, nationalism, and violence
    Interreligious peacebuilding
    Israeli-Palestinian conflict
    American Judaisim
    Religion, social movements, gender, and development

  • Pfeil 600 X 800

    Margaret Pfeil
    Theology

    (574) 631-9378
    mpfeil1@nd.edu

    Moral theology and Christian ethics
    Catholic Social Teaching
    Ecumenism
    Peace studies
    Ecological ethics
    Racial justice

  • Philpott 600 X 800

    Daniel Philpott
    Political Science

    (574) 631-0573
    philpott.1@nd.edu

    Christian political theology
    Religion and reconciliation in global politics
    Democraticzation, peace, civil war, and terrorism
    Religious freedom in Islam
    The Catholic Church in global politics

  • Powers 600 X 800

    Gerard Powers
    Peace Studies
    (574) 631-3765
    gpowers1@nd.edu

    Catholic approaches to international affairs and peacebuilding
    Catholic approaches to the ethics of the use of force

  • Reynolds 600 X 800

    Gabriel Reynolds
    Theology
    (574) 631-5138
    reynolds@nd.edu

    Qur'anic studies
    Muslim-Christian relations
    World Religions and World Church

  • Ryan 600 X 800

    Maura Ryan
    Theology
    (574) 631-2799
    ryan.61@nd.edu

    Religion, bioethics, and health policy
    Gender and bioethics
    Catholic social thought
    Fundamental moral theology

  • Sikkink David

    David Sikkink
    Sociology

    (574) 631-2736
    David.Sikkink.1@nd.edu

    Education, religion, and politics
    Religious and private nonreligious school effects
    Civic education in religious and other private schools
    Religion and schooling choices
    Evangelical Protestants and political engagement

  • Sirry 600 X 800

    Mun'im Sirry
    Theology

    (574) 631-1796
    msirry@nd.edu

    Qur'anic studies
    Interreligious relations
    Political theology
    Modern Islamic thought
    Southeast Asian religions and cultures

  • Springs 600 X 800

    Jason Springs
    Religion, Ethics, and Peace Studies

    (574) 631-0931
    jspring1@nd.edu

    Religious ethics in Europe and North America
    Challenges of religious pluralism in conflict
    Islamophobia in Europe and North America

  • Smith 600 X 800

    Christian Smith
    Sociology

    (574) 631-4531
    christian.smith@nd.edu

    Religious parenting in the US
    Religious and spiritual lives of American teenagers
    Giving and non-giving in American Christianity
    Radical religion
    American Evangelicalism
    Secularization

  • Cummings 600 X 800

    Kathleen Sprows Cummings
    American Studies and History

    (574) 631-8749
    kcumming@nd.edu

    History of women in Catholicism
    Women religious, sanctity, and American religion
    The papacy

  • St.Ville

    Susan St. Ville
    Peace Studies

    (574) 631-2628
    ssvill1@nd.edu

    Religion, spirituality, and conflict
    Theology and feminism

  • Tweed 600 X 800

    Thomas Tweed
    American Studies and History

    (574) 631-7321
    ttweed@nd.edu

    Religion and migration
    Religion and environmental issues
    Religious diversity in North America, especially
    Buddhism and Christianity

Latest News

Spatiality and subjectivity: Code-switching as resident and researcher during COVID-19

Author: Lailatul Fitriyah

Lailatul Fitriyah2

Undertaking research in my Indonesian home removes the somewhat convenient compartmentalization between my private and public lives. It transforms my home into a liminal space in which I experience my Indonesian and American identities within the same place. While this shift can be unsettling, it also has its advantages.

Read More about Spatiality and subjectivity: Code-switching as resident and researcher during COVID-19

Ansari Institute to help change the conversation about religion with new grant

Author: Josh Stowe

Asari Discussion

Thanks to a generous grant from the Arthur Vining Davis Foundations, the Ansari Institute for Global Engagement with Religion will host a series of workshops that will help change the conversation about religion by bringing journalists, scholars, and faith practitioners together to learn from each other and better communicate their perspectives.

Read More about Ansari Institute to help change the conversation about religion with new grant

Veils and leggings: Gender roles in Indiana, Oman, and beyond

Author: Elizabeth Boyle

This time last year, a mother of two young sons wrote to our campus newspaper urging young women to avoid wearing leggings during Basilica Mass because it was distracting for her sons and other young men. The opinion piece spread like wildfire and found its way into various prominent media outlets, such as the Boston Globe…

Read More about Veils and leggings: Gender roles in Indiana, Oman, and beyond


View all news